105 Peavey Rd, Ste 116
Chaska, MN 55318

2002 Elections Bring Change to House Education Policy Committee Membership

Education committee members are powerful in the legislature as they decide which education bills are considered. For example, over the last two years, Sandy Pappas, chair of the Senate Education Committee, has refused to hear any bills which eliminate the Profile of Learning simply because she did not want to. This forces Senators to bypass the process and introduce bills on the Senate floor where debate is much more controlled and bills are less likely to be discussed and much more difficult to pass.

Of the 32 House Education Policy Committee Members, 6 of them no longer hold office, including the former chair of the committee, Harry Mares. This means that a new committee chair will be appointed this session and at least 1/5 of the committe will be made up of new members. These new members will need imput from their constinuents.

There is a lot of work to do!

Analysis of Education Committe Membership After 2002 Elections
Chair: Harry Mares (R) Retired
Vice Chair: Mark Olson (R)
Lead-DFL: John Dorn (DFL)
Bruce Anderson (R)
Mark Buesgens (R)
George Cassell (R) Retired
Steve Dehler (R)
Rob Eastlund (R)
Sondra Erickson (R)
Jeff Johnson (R)
Tony Kielkucki (R)
Peggy Leppik (R)
Robert Ness (R) Retired
Maxine Penas (R)
Alice Seagren (R)
Marty Seifert (R)
Barb Sykora (R)
Ken Wolf (R) Retired
Len Biernat (DFL)
Lyndon Carlson (DFL)
Jim Davnie (DFL)
Matt Entenza (DFL)
Barbara Goodwin (DFL)
Gregory Gray (DFL) Retired
Mindy Greiling (DFL)
Carlos Mariani (DFL)
Paul Marquart (DFL)
Mary Jo McGuire (DFL)
Joe Opatz (DFL)
Gene Pelowski (DFL)
Leslie Schumacher (DFL) Defeated
Rod Skoe (DFL)
EdWatch is entirely user-supported. The continuation of our research and distribution work is entirely dependent on individual contributors. If you want to assure that our work continues, Link to -- our donations page.